Home Sports Australia’s best talents in wheelchair rugby gathered in Sydney for the 2019...

Australia’s best talents in wheelchair rugby gathered in Sydney for the 2019 National Championships – Disabled Sports Australia


Quaycentre at Sydney’s Olympic Park this week will host what many expect to become the hottest national wheelchair rugby championship of recent times.

The late inclusion of the New Zealand Wheel Blacks in the tournament complements five dedicated teams from Australian states, each hoping to leave the Olympic Park and become the GIO Wheelchair rugby champion in 2019.

Winning gold in 2018, Queensland has come up with two teams in the championship that seek to continue their recent dominance in the national arena. NSW will be encouraged by the advantage of home fans and welcome the inclusion of Australian Steelers captain, Riley Bath, who went missing due to injury last year. The silver medalist of 2018 Victoria named an experienced team, which was able to lead the representative of Australia Jason Liz.

A great sign for Australian wheelchair rugby – the 2019 national championship will feature the AAMI South Australia Sharks, competing for the first time since 2015.

Although most of the AAMI SA Sharks team proudly hails from South Australia, the team has been improved by the inclusion of a number of players from Western Australia – a positive sign for the development of wheelchair rugby in Australia.

Wheelchair Rugby Australia general manager Chris Nay is thrilled to be expecting an exceptional three-day competition.

“Looking at the competition teams, this event could be the closest national wheelchair rugby championship Australia has seen in a few years.”

“This is the top competition in our country, and the level of the game will be extremely high. Matches are held on Friday and weekends and I would like to encourage people to go for this sport and see the national championship live. Wheelchair rugby is truly one of the great sports for spectators, ”Mr. Nye continued.

Disability Sports Australia and Wheelchair Rugby Australia are grateful to Naming Rights sponsor GIO for their continued support of wheelchair rugby in Australia.

Entry to the championship is by gold coins, and all games will be broadcast live www.wheelchairrugby.com.au!!


Friday, June 28th

10:00 Opening Ceremony

11:00 GIO NSW Gladiators vs. Queensland Cyclones

12:45 AAMI SA Sharks vs. Suncorp Queensland Tornadoes

14:30 Victoria Protect Thunder vs. Vero New Zealand Wheel Blacks

16:15 Queensland Cyclones vs. Suncorp Queensland Tornadoes

18:00 Vero New Zealand Wheel Blacks vs. GIO NSW Gladiators

19:45 AAMI SA Sharks vs. Victoria Protect Thunder

Saturday, June 29th

09:30 Sancorp Queensland Tornado vs. Vera New Zealand Will Blacks

11:15 Queensland Cyclones vs. AAMI SA Sharks

13:00 Victoria Protect Thunder vs. GIO NSW Gladiators

14:45 Faith New Zealand Will Blacks vs. Queensland Cyclones

16:30 Sancorp Queensland Tornado vs. Victoria Protect Thunder

18:15 GIO NSW Gladiators vs. AAMI SA Sharks

Sunday, June 30th

09:00 Queensland Cyclones vs. Victoria Protect Thunder

10:30 GIO NSW Gladiators vs. Suncorp Queensland Tornadoes

12:00 AAMI SA Sharks vs. Vero New Zealand Wheel Blacks

14:00 Match for bronze

15:30 Gold medal match

17:00 Presentation of the medal

Additional information: Chris Nay, General Manager of Australian Wheelchair Rugby
M: 0405 036 727
E: chris@wheelchairrugby.com.au


Previous articleVirgin Australia has suffered a class action lawsuit