Home Uncategorized Disaster relief has continued after a severe flood in New Wales

Disaster relief has continued after a severe flood in New Wales


LGA is: Bayside Council, Shira Bega Valley Council, Blacktown City Council, Blue Mountains City Council, Camden City Council, Campbelltown City Council, Canterbury Bankstown Council, Central Coast Council, Central Coast Council, Hirkir City Council Inner Western Council, Kiyama City Council, Ku-Ring Guy Council, Liverpool City Council, Mid-Coast Council, Newcastle City Council, North Beaches City Council, Northern Beaches Council, Parramaty City Council, Penrith City Council, Raid City Council, Shellhahl City Council, Shellhaarbor City Council, City Shira Sutherland, Shira Wingekaribi Council, Shira Wallondili Council, Wollongong City Council.

Assistance is provided through co-funded Commonwealth and State of Emergency Recovery (DRFA) countries.

The Minister for Emergencies and National Reconstruction and Sustainability, the Honorable Senator Bridget Mackenzie, said the scale of the floods had affected residents of the state, many of whom are still unable to return home.

“We continue to stand shoulder to shoulder with the flood-affected communities. As flood waters begin to recede in northern NSW, we are beginning to enter a long phase of recovery and estimate the tremendous clean-up that needs to take place.

“This DRFA assistance will help victims, small businesses, primary producers and local councils to get back on their feet as soon as possible,” said Minister Mackenzie.

New South Wales Minister for Emergencies and Sustainability Steph Cook said the emphasis is on providing immediate support and assistance to all residents affected by the floods.

“Some areas are flooded, but we know that there are other regions that are still in a state of acute emergency where the focus remains on saving lives and ensuring the safety of communities.”

“Today’s announcement guarantees that when all communities enter the recovery phase, they will be able to recover, rebuild and return to a sense of normalcy as soon as possible,” Minister Cook said.

DRFA assistance is now available at the 45 LGA in NSW.

Assistance available under the DRFA may include:

  • Assistance to eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged (legal criteria apply);
  • Support affected local councils to help with the cost of cleaning up and restoring damaged core public values;
  • Financial assistance for small businesses, primary producers and nonprofits; and
  • Subsidies for primary producers.

To apply for a soft loan or grant from a primary producer, contact the NSW Rural Aid Administration at 1800 678 593 or visit the website.

Contact NSW 13 13 88 for information on personal difficulties and disaster relief.

Information on disaster relief can be found on the Australian Government’s website Disaster relief site.

Previous articleInterior Ministry mayors show views on Murray member Helen Dalton’s breakup with shooters, fishermen and farmers | District News
Next articleLast snapshot of coronavirus exposure