Home Business North Queensland Cowboys, Canberra Raiders, Cronulla Sharks and Wests Tigers will join...

North Queensland Cowboys, Canberra Raiders, Cronulla Sharks and Wests Tigers will join the competition in 2023


The expansion of the NRLW began quickly: the Cowboys, Raiders, Sharks and West Tigers were set to compete with 10 teams in 2023, despite reservations from players and coaches regarding the resilience and talent of the players.

NRL CEO Andrew Abdo unveiled four new NRLW clubs in the Central Rugby League on Wednesday after the NRL initially predicted that only two teams would be added next season and then two more in 2024.

It took into account the fact that Canberra and North Queensland can benefit from healthy gaming promotions outside the current NRLW pool, as well as the southern and western footprints of Sydney offered by Cronula and the Tigers.

Several key figures, including NSW and Dragons captain Kezi Epps and blues coach Kylie Hilder, have expressed concern that the rapid expansion is too fast.

The NRL, however, was convinced by the strength of each club’s respective application that the paths for women’s play would be strengthened rather than compromised.

The transition to a competition of 10 teams comes after the announcement of raising the salary limit in this year’s issue at the end of the season, in which the ruling prime ministers “Roosters” together with “Broncos”, “Dragons”, “Eels” , “Knights” and “Titans”.

Roosters celebrate their victory in the NRLW Prime Minister in April.Credit:Getty

According to the NRL, limiting salaries to $ 350,000 for the August competition will increase salaries by an average of 28 percent, while the club will also be given an additional right to two players.

In recent months, the movement of players has become strong and fast.


Previous articleVinnies CEO’s sleepout to take place next week to raise awareness of homelessness
Next articleGuide dogs Australia and Royals make a magical company